top of page

Recreate yourself (change)


Aha moments. In a post by Nawla Damiba, I ran into this sentence that became and aha moment for me (you know that moment when you pause and think "wow that's deep" and the statement sticks with you). Nawla says "At some point, you're no longer the product of your environment but a creator in your life, free to choose who you are." She personally wanted to "not be so heavily dependent on my outside world, but to be driven by something greater, something more internal: my divine self."

That statement describes what I've wanted for sometime, to not be so affected by things and people around me. This moment of awareness hit me years ago, when I heard my husband talk about being in two worlds. He said part of us walks in the world of our earthly experiences and desires, and part of us walks in the world of spirit, our God connection. Its a good question to ask ourselves which one these is driving us. Neither is necessarily wrong.

In our early adult years, we need to be able to navigate the world and set our priorities appropriately whether it is about survival or getting ahead. At some point, we may start to take a look at ourselves and say "is this how I want to live my life? Can I change it?" We often may look at change to find more meaning and purpose in what we do.

Change happens for us on many levels; in our mind, with our physical body and in our religious and/or spiritual journey. Our focus and perspective changes as we decide which one of these drives or points the way on our journey. We may look to others for guidance or support or even to rescue us, but in the end it's really up to us on how we think, feel and act to make the change in ourselves.

A dear friend of mine I call my soul sister, says she likes to have "tools in her toolbox". It helps to have a variety of tools in our toolbox to help us with change. Tools can include something as simple as how we breath (knowing the way we breath when we are stressed and how to change that) as well as techniques such as practicing mindfulness, exercise, affirmations, meditation, yoga, hypnotherapy and learning self hypnosis. Next post I will cover the benefits of each of these. Have a great week. Be blessed and stress less.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page